Joe Perry & Friends Record Release Party

Joeperryrecordreleaseshowjan2018 443x400

Joe Perry assembled an all-star band to perform alongside him at the sold-out record release show for his new Sweetzerland Manifesto album last night (Jan. 16) at The Roxy Theatre in Los Angeles. The guitarist, co-founding member, principal songwriter and co-producer of Aerosmith was joined by album collaborators Robin Zander (Cheap Trick), David Johansen (New York Dolls) and Terry Reid (solo artist/vocals).

Also performing were Slash, Johnny Depp (the Hollywood Vampires), Gary Cherone (Extreme/Van Halen), Chris Robinson, Dean and Robert DeLeo (Stone Temple Pilots), Buck Johnson (keyboards/vocals/Aerosmith) and David Goodstein (drums).

Sweetzerland Manifesto is being released on his own Roman Records imprint, this Friday, Jan. 19. It marks Perry‘s sixth solo album and is comprised of 10 new tracks, all but one written or co-written by Perry with many with the album’s guest vocalists. (The sole exception is a cover of “Eve Of Destruction” with Perry on lead vocals and Johnny Depp on drums.)

Watch Perry sing “Eve of Destruction” at the Roxy

Joeperryrecordreleaseshowjan2018 7750359

In interview with Perry, he was asked if he would be supporting the new album on the road.

“Well, uh, yeah, I’d like to if I can find some time,” he said, with a laugh. “I really would. Every song is designed to play live. It was strictly about making music and having fun.” As for who might comprise the band, Perry says, “I have a lot of friends that are in bands or session guys. I’d really like to go out and do a proper two-month tour, but we’ll see.”

Watch Perry & Friends perform “Train Kept A-Rollin’”

Here’s some onstage banter before the band kicks in with their version of “Come Together”

By Best Classic Bands
Rate article
Add a comment